The Versatile Blogger

I have been tagged! Thanks St.Elsewhere. Apparently I need to list 10 random things about me.

  1.  I’m funny about eating animals, I don’t really like to eat cow/pork/chicken with a few exceptions (hamburgers, curried chicken, and xmas turkey). Otherwise I pick tofu anytime.
  2. I left home when I was 17 to go to University and because I didn’t go home one summer when I was 19 (I went to uni during the summer instead) my mother declared that “she’s going to sell the house because no one wants to live here” and in a huff she sold the house and left the province and I was left totally on my own (which I am fine with).
  3. I have lived off of $143 per month (from that came my rent,$100 in a shared house with 12 people and a mouse infestation, heat, electricity, phone bill and food).  There was no partying in my first year of university, I was busy searching for sales on soup (because 40 cents was still too expensive). It made me thrifty.
  4. I’m over educated, but still don’t know what I want career wise (BA in Sociology/History, BSc in Psychology/Biology, Certificate in Human Resources Mgmt and several terms of intensive french).
  5. I’m not a sports fan, would rather poke my eyes out then watch any sport – with the exception of olympic hockey and world cup soccer. And I DONT play sports.
  6. I routinely take pictures of the food I eat/recipes I try and never have time to actually write posts about it. My husband is puzzled by random pictures of oatmeal.
  7. I get numerous hugs everyday, and it’s fantastic.
  8. My last few work experiences have scarred me. My last boss was a nut job that tried to fire me while I was in hospital recovering from an infection from an IVF cycle and surgical complications, claiming that I missed too much work  – I was in hospital for 10 days and missed 6 days work. But I worked 70 hours a week for 12 months before this time off and only got paid for 35 hours (which if you are not management in Canada is bloody arse illegal). Did I mention he was a highly regarded surgeon? The boss before that was a design diva with her own show, and D-I-V-A she was, after I quit she rapidly went through 4 assistants in as many months. Although she was tedious, I loved all other aspects of the job, and in a twisted way, I miss it.
  9. I’m a Newfie , but I don’t have an accent.
  10. I listen to CBC radio all day long. It keeps my brain from turning to mush.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. St. Elsewhere
    May 16, 2011 @ 04:10:31

    I love #7.

    You know, when I was in school, I knew what I did not want to do. But I never thought I would end up being a teacher.

    One of things I appreciate at my job is that at least for health reasons, my Director does permit us leaves.

    I had never heard the term Newfie (now I know). But from the description of it, it is not polite to call somebody that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,374 hits
